Reviews

Finding the perfect venue and a team you trust is the one of the biggest commitments you’ll make during your wedding planning experience (next to the “I Do’s,” of course). While we think our personalized service and sophisticated spaces speak for themselves, you don’t have to take our word for it. Read what past brides and grooms have said about their Deerfield wedding in our Love Letters.

Five Stars

Everything was on point

Nancy, Mother of the Bride, Wedding on 7/4/20
We wanted you to know how pleased we were with the success of our daughter’s wedding reception that Deerfield hosted on July 4th.  Everything was on point including the refreshing cocktail hour with hors d’oeuvres stations, the delicious dinner, the gorgeous facilities, and the attentive staff. We recognize the challenges caused by the pandemic and appreciate all you did to accommodate us.  We extend a huge thank you to the entire Deerfield crew with a special shout out to you, Mike, and Ryan.  We had a flawless experience and will highly recommend Deerfield as an event venue. Thank you for creating memories for all of our guests.  Alli and Caleb could not have been happier with their special day as evidenced by some of Alli’s Facebook comments:
“Thanks for the best day ever!”
“WHAT . A . DAY! Everything was perfect.”

Five Stars

Absolutely breathtaking property with an unbelievably accommodating staff and planning team!

Kendra, Married 9/21/19
We may be a little biased, but Deerfield is the best wedding venue and exceeded all expectations for our wedding day. We looked at other luxury venues in the DE / PA area, and none of them compared with Deerfield. Deerfield offers a completely customizable wedding experience that allows you to select everything from the food and beverages selection, linens, seating arrangement, timeline and much more. Not to mention, the package comes with a remarkable wedding planner and day of coordinators (we especially want to thank Angela, Mike, Carmen and Jeff for making our wedding day certainly a day to remember).
The ballroom at Deerfield is breathtaking! It is perfectly laid out with a large dance floor in the center. The ballroom has large windows on every wall which sets the stage for an even more romantic setting. Not to mention there is access to the perfectly kempt greens and a porch with a waterfall (which makes for a very romantic photo setting).
Instead, we want to focus this review on the unbelievable staff at Deerfield who were professional and executed everything flawlessly through the entire planning process and on our actual wedding day/night. You can tell the moment that you start planning a wedding with the Deerfield team that they have done it before and that you are in great hands. You never sense an ounce of stress or panic in their team, even when you are stressing as you come down to crunch time!
The event planning team, and we worked with Angela and Jeff in particular, are able to take all your different thoughts and ideas and construct them into a perfect vision for your wedding day. And most importantly, they are not afraid to add in their own ideas or to tell you if one of your ideas may not be the best fit for your wedding day. They are not there to just say “yes” to you, they are there to ensure that your wedding goes as smooth as possible.
The day-of event team, we worked with Carmen and Mike, are a well-oiled machine. We had not met with them until the week of our wedding, but a day or two is all they needed to make sure they understood the plan that we had laid out with Angela and to get their staff to execute that plan to perfection. When we went to check on the ballroom during our cocktail hour, we were left speechless by how elegant the place was. Throughout the night, they handled the coordination with our vendors and made sure that we kept to our timeline – which is harder to do than we ever could have imagined!
And they treat you like royalty. There was one point in the night that my husband swears he had simply thought about grabbing a gin & tonic from the bar and before he could even finish the thought Mike tapped him on the shoulder and had a gin & tonic for him. They make sure that all our guests are taken care of and they do it without being in the way or even being noticed – they are like wedding ninjas!
And in case you feel like it’s just a business to them and you are just a number – we went back there for brunch in November (which we highly recommend) and Mike, Carmen, and Jeff (the general manager) all recognized us right away and took the time to catch up with us about our wedding, honeymoon, etc. They remembered specific people and details from the evening and from our conversations that we would have never expected them to remember. It really made us feel special and made us feel like part of the family at Deerfield.
We highly recommend Deerfield for your wedding or really any event. A beautiful venue with a team of true professionals in every sense of the word.

Five Stars

True professionals

Erika, married on 11/16/2019
Deerfield did an amazing job with our November 2019 wedding. They are a very well-tuned machine and made sure we were comfortable with decisions and planning throughout our meetings with them. Our day was really special without any issues or missteps. They have a knowledgeable & responsive staff who really ensure everything is going smoothly – from the dancefloor install to the catering and everything in between. We are so pleased with our experience!

Five Stars

The most perfect wedding venue!

Jackie, married on 10/11/2019
This venue is so stunning inside and out! From the outdoor patio space, to the cocktail hour in the atrium and the beautiful ballroom, Deerfield is very classy and elegant. Our guests couldn’t stop raving about how nice it was. My husband and I had our wedding reception at Deerfield on October 11th and it couldn’t have been more perfect. We worked with Angela throughout the planning process and she was AMAZING. She understood exactly what we wanted and made everything so easy, and was just overall a pleasure to work with! 🙂 The staff on the wedding day were all so professional and easy going and our guests and wedding party couldn’t say enough positive things about the overall atmosphere.
Carmen was our banquet supervisor and she did a BEAUTIFUL job setting up all of the decorations and coordinating the flow of the wedding. Our bridal attendant Gabby was the sweetest and made sure that my bridesmaids and I had all that we needed throughout the day.

Five Stars

Great wedding venue!

Emily, married on 9/27/2019
I would highly recommend Deerfield for a wedding venue! The staff was easy to get a hold of during the wedding planning process by phone and email. The day of, the bride had her own bridal attendant who was absolutely amazing and went above and beyond her job. The catering staff were extremely attentive to a guest with Celiac’s. Also, all coordinators the day off asked the bride, groom, and close family members if anything was needed throughout the night!

Five Stars

Amazing experience 10/10

Jenna, married on 9/14/2019
The staff at Deerfield was very accommodating and helpful throughout the entire wedding planning process. To taste testing, promptly responding to emails, meeting to review all of the details the week before the wedding, to setting up the event with personal items/touches, everything was perfect. We had many positive comments from guests who attended the wedding including the quality of the food, service of the bar tenders, as well as the servers and overall atmosphere. We would 100% recommend this venue and overall had an amazing experience.

Five Stars

You shouldn’t go anywhere else!!!

Jennifer, married on 08/03/2019
Angela and her team are unbelievable. They really are. They are on point, professional, and ready to go. They know how to run an event, I’ll tell you. We gave them the information that was needed, and they ran with it! We didn’t worry about one thing, because we knew that it was already taken care of. Angela was ten steps ahead of us at all times, and took care of everything. The venue itself is so beyond gorgeous, I could live there. The food is delicious and the facilities are immaculate. We traveled from Arizona to have our wedding here, and would do it a million times over.

Five Stars

Best Night Ever!

Lindsey, married on 08/10/2019
My husband and I had our wedding reception at Deerfield August 2019. From our initial walkthrough we knew this was the place for us. The large windows, ballroom & atrium for cocktail hour, and outdoor space are stunning! Angela was our wedding coordinator and she was always very responsive. She was also very personal and made sure you were doing ok in the planning process. Deerfield exceeded our expectations! Everything was perfect! The night went flawlessly. We even did a bubble machine exit at the end of the night and last minute I realized the machine need to be plugged in and did not run on battery. The staff at Deerfield said it was not an issue and even ran an extension cord for us to use it! They go above and beyond here!
We would like to thank the all of the staff at Deerfield who made our wedding reception the best night ever especially Angela, Michael, JD and Michelle. Thank you!

Five Stars

Beautiful Venue!

Amanda, married on 06/15/2019
Our wedding was BEAUTIFUL! The venue is positioned perfectly on the golf course and the ballroom is breathtaking! The large doors and windows highlights and frame the scenery. Our guests loved so many things about our wedding including the food, premium bar package, wine service at dinner and facilities. The staff of the event were friendly and accommodating; from the manager, Michael, to our bridal attendant, Kassa…they made our day special! I would recommend Deerfield to anyone who wants a gorgeous wedding at a venue that it his highly recommended and respected in the field!

Five Stars

Gorgeous Venue & Excellent Service!

Ninette, married on 05/24/2019
My husband and I just got married at Deerfield Golf Club in May 2019 and we absolutely loved it! We had our ceremony outdoors on the Terrace (facing the golf course), our cocktail hour in the Sussex atrium, and our reception in the ballroom. We loved that our guests were able to experience all these different locations as each one provided its own unique beauty. We first saw the venue (and preferred vendors) at the open house. We were initially nervous that our 95 guests would feel lost in the ballroom, but the staff did an excellent job arranging the room to feel intimate and spacious. The professionalism and customer service of all the staff members from the open house all the way through to the wedding day was absolutely exceptional! We mainly corresponded with Angela during the planning phase, and she was very helpful and pleasurable to work with. The food tasting exceeded our expectations with it’s extensive and delicious menu. The week of the wedding, the staff was very thorough in going over all of our decorations/set-up instructions. We definitely felt at ease that our wedding day was in good hands and they did a great job pulling it all together on the big day. They even thought to move two pillars with floral arrangements from the outdoor ceremony into the ballroom to accent either side of our sweetheart table – for whatever reason my husband and I hadn’t thought of that but they did and it turned out so lovely!! Overall, from the gorgeous venue to the amazing staff and delicious food we could not have asked for a better experience!

Five Stars

Beautiful Wedding Venue, Excellent Service & Food!

Stefanie, Married 5/4/2019
My husband and I held our wedding reception at Deerfield on 5/4/2019. I could not be more pleased with how our day went. Everything went smoothly, all thanks to their phenominal staff. We were able to bring all of our decorations and signs to them a few days before, and they set it all up for us; it was a huge relief to us that they did this for us! Our managers for the day, JD and Michael, were wonderful and went over every detail with us at our final appointment. They also made sure that we got to eat despite the busy day, and that my handicapped sister was comfortable. I can’t thank them enough for their impeccable service! The scenery around the venue is breathtaking, and is a beautiful backdrop for unforgettable photos. The food was also excellent (I highly recommend the bacon wrapped filet!) and I have heard nothing but great comments from our guests. Deerfield was very accommodating to all of our requests and definitely exceeded our expectations; they truly went above and beyond to make sure everything went as planned and to our satisfaction. I would highly recommend Deerfield if you are looking for a wedding venue in Delaware.

Five Stars

Stress-free wedding

Karen, married 1/27/2019
Amazing Team who made every request and detail happen and made it even better! I am truly thankful for all the assistance you provided with the preparation and the day of….you made it a stress-free and fun wedding! The ballroom was so beautiful, food was great, and Deerfield folks ensured we and our guests enjoyed the wedding. And….they made sure me and my husband were attended to, had time to enjoy the food, the drinks and the place. THANK YOU ANGELA, LIZETTE, STEPHANIE, MICHAEL and TEAM!!!

Five Stars

A Dream Wedding!

Natalie, married 10/21/2018
I just had my fairytale wedding reception at Deerfield…and I can’t recommend them enough. (My sister also got married here…we LOVE this place!)
We had complicated centerpieces, food and drink selections and so many other random details that Angela and her team worked with us on SO easily. No request felt too big. We decided not to serve alcohol, and I found out later they made cute little non alcoholic drinks for our guests! They stored each separately boxed centerpiece for us the week ahead of time (20 LARGE boxes…). They served chocolate milk just for my cousins. They lit hundreds of candles on our tables…made sure the groom and I actually ate. Honestly one of the most stress free events and gorgeous weddings (yes I know I’m a little biased). My husband and I can’t recommend Deerfield enough. (also, your photos here will be BEAUTIFUL. Get on the golf course at sunset!)

Five Stars

The perfect venue!

Jessica, married 10/20/2018
Deerfield was the perfect venue for our wedding day. The staff is so professional and truly cares about making your day perfect! The staff worked great with our vendors to ensure everything was exactly as we wanted it. The pine trees location for our ceremony was perfect and our guests were able to utilize the outdoor patio during cocktail hour. Lizette and Michael made sure the day of ran perfectly and that I (the bride) was stress free! Our bridal attendant Sarah was always right there when we needed something. Angela was there every step of the way during the planning process! Our family and friends had so many amazing things to say! Everything was absolutely perfect!

Five Stars

I could not have asked for a better experience

Elizabeth, married 9/29/2018
I knew Deerfield was the right choice almost immediately when we were venue-shopping for our wedding, but I was blown away by the level of care and professionalism Deerfield demonstrated. From start to finish every single person was exceptional.
I want to give a special thanks to Carly. I don’t know where they found her, but she was fantastic – attentive, poised and calm. She stayed close whenever either my husband or I needed anything but we never felt crowded or over-served.
Chef and his entire kitchen team were spectacular. Guests are still raving about the food, and they have said it was the best wedding dinner they’ve had.
Lizette and Michael were in the pinnacle of professionalism. Michael asked me a couple of times throughout the night if everything was going well. I could never find a complaint. Lizette was a fantastic ally to have when I needed to be pulled away from overly chatty guests or just needed to eat.
And from the time I first toured Deerfield to the last Wednesday before the wedding, Angela was phenomenal. I never had a question unanswered, always felt like I was her only client when I called with small or strange questions. She was incredible, and I have been shouting her and Deerfield’s praises from the Main Line Philadelphia.

Read more great reviews at weddingwire.com.